Last gathering of the year

This Thursday I am hoping you will indulge me a little.  I am in a study course with Venerable Pannavati. We just finished the book – Heartwood of the Bodhi Tree: The Buddha’s Teaching on Voidness by Ajahn Buddhadasa Bhikkhu (which is an unbelievably good book).  I have an assignment to demonstrate my understanding by giving a talk on the book and/or subject.  I would prefer to offer it to you this Thursday for a full discussion rather than simply talking into a recorder by myself.

We have been talking about voidness for several months.   It is the underlying foundation of the Ten Fetters, Dependent Origination and Desire.  The term”voidness” has gotten kind of a bad rap in western culture.  I think because the idea that objects/experences have no inherent value makes little sense when we use objects and experience life constantly.  The concept can seem a little too existential or esoteric but once understood, it is the most freeing aspect of Buddha’s teachings.

I would like to present the topic from Ajahn Buddhadasa’s explanation. It is the clearest discussion I have ever heard on the subject.  Our discussion may even entice you to get the book and read it for yourself.

With a deep bow…
Tuere

NOTE: We will return to meeting on the street level, south side entry to the church. This will be our last gathering of the year, no sits on Christmas or New Year’s Day.

Leave a comment

